You are here

It's time for Pharmacare

It is time to complete the work that Tommy Douglas started with Medicare. Right now, the Liberals are deciding if they will adopt the recommendations of their own advisory council on the implementation of pharmacare. Tell your MP that access to health care should be based on need, not on the ability to pay or where you work.
Send an Email
Jati Sidhu <jati.sihu@parl.gc.ca>
Dan Ruimy<dan.ruimy@parl.gc.ca>
Ron McKinnon<ron.mckinnon@parl.gc.ca>
Gordie Hogg<gordie.hogg@parl.gc.ca>
Terry Beech<terry.beech@parl.gc.ca>
Carla Qualtrough<carla.qualtrough@parl.gc.ca>
Jonathan Wilkinson<jonathan.wilkinson@parl.gc.ca>
Joyce Murray<joyce.murray@parl.gc.ca>
Harjit Sajjan<harjit.sajjan@parl.gc.ca>
Pam Goldsmith-Jones<pam.goldsmith-jones@parl.gc.ca>
John Aldag<john.aldag@parl.gc.ca>
Sukh Dhaliwal<sukh.dhaliwal@parl.gc.ca>
Hedy Fry<hedy.fry@parl.gc.ca>
Stephen Fuhr<stephen.fuhr@parl.gc.ca>
Ken Hardie<ken.hardie@parl.gc.ca>
Joe Peschisolido<joe.peschisolido@parl.gc.ca>
Randeep Sarai<randeep.sarai@parl.gc.ca>
Sign your Message

It's time for Pharmacare

It is time to complete the work that Tommy Douglas started with Medicare.

 

Right now, the Liberals are deciding if they will adopt the recommendations of their own advisory council on the implementation of pharmacare. The federal NDP have already promised full Pharmacare if elected. Now, send a message to B.C's Liberal MP's asking them to commit to the value that access to health care should be based on need, not on the ability to pay or where you work.

Among the countries that have universal public health care, Canada is the only one that doesn’t cover prescription medications, and as a result we pay the most for those medications.

A universal single-payer pharmacare plan would not only ensure that all Canadians have equitable and affordable access to life saving medications, but by negotiating drug prices for the country as a whole (“bulk buying”) we could significantly lower prices for medications. There is also the possible added savings from the removal of federal tax subsidies for private insurance plans and the reduction of federal medical tax credits. A universal single-payer pharmacare plan would save money and lives.

However, the profit defending lobbies of Big Pharma and Big Insurance are unleashing all their resources to push forward an inefficient and costly patchwork, fill-in-the-gaps plan. Most people would have to continue relying on workplace drug plans, which vary dramatically depending on where you work. High-risk, high-cost patients would be pushed out of private plans and “dumped” onto public plans. And without the negotiating power of single payer “bulk buying”, the government would be forced to fill in the gaps by paying for medication at any price that Big Pharma sets.  

We need to tell our MPs to put the needs of the people over the profits of a few.

 

Please fill out the email in the sidebar - and edit the email to explain why British Columbia's federal Liberal MP's need to commit to full, universal, single-payer pharmacare, as recommended by their advisory committee.

 

Thank you!

 

For more information:

  1. Link to the final report, A Prescription for Canada: Achieving Pharmacare for All, by the Advisory Council on the Implementation of National Pharmacare, click HERE.
  2. Canadian Health Coalition, Pharmacare: Issue in Detail, click HERE.
  3. For full press conference about the release of Advisory Council on the Implementation of National Pharmacare, click HERE.